How the world pictures men…

In this first ad, we see several men and the voice over sounds half-dead listing all the things he will do (for her)…the man is “dutiful”.  “I will say yes when you want me to say yes”… “I will listen to your opinions of my friends”… “I will be civil to your mother”… “I will put the seat down, I will seperate the recycling”… “I will carry your lip balm” … “I will watch your vampire TV shows with you” … “I will put my underwear in the basket”…

And because I do this… I will drive the car I want to drive.

Do you see it?  Man is dutiful.  Man is really a little boy – cleaning up and doing the things Mommie tells him to do.  Man is emasculated.  But man is also “dumb” —  I will do all of this just so I can drive the car I want to drive (and thus, this is all I really care about)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2RyPamyWotM

And then…there is the follow up ad…this one from the woman’s point of view…

“I will wash your underwear.  I will prepare meals for you.  I will clean the kitchen.  I will let you keep that power tool you bought (this one is really a slap!).  I will raise your children.  I will continue to do the household chores by a factor of 3 to 1.  I will be the prime bread winner.  I will start 70% of all new businesses.  I will be responsible for making the major financial decisions in 95% of US households…

And because of that, I will stop payment on your gas guzzling, ego stroking, macho mobile…”

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XkBWhrGa9gc&feature=related

And there it is…Woman is in control.  She does all the work at home.  She will let you keep that power tool you bought (like a Mama letting her little boy keep his toy).  She will be the primary bread winner and she will decide if you can keep that car.

I’m not attacking women here – so if you are a lady reading this, don’t get mad.  I’m trying to point out that this is the picture of manhood today in America.  Man has been emasculated.  Man has been rendered “helpless” and really almost pitiful.  Man can’t lead.  Man can’t make financial decisions. 

This is dangerous.  It subverts God’s design.  It has become a given in America that men are weak and almost useless.

This is the result of the breakdown of fatherhood in America.  40% of all households in America are fatherless and up to 70% of African American homes are fatherless.  In the 50’s, 60’s and 70’s, Dads checked out.  They went into the factory or hit the road as traveling salesmen and left Mom in charge.  Divorce rates soared and now many women now don’t even want a husband or even a man living with them – they just want the baby and then they can do the rest.  It is a lie.

Our culture flounders.  We have a sense of hopelessness spreading across our nation.  There seems to be a real lack of leadership in our society.  Why?  What is missing?

We’ll go deeper into this in the posts to come…

Keep living UP.

Leave a Reply

