are you a dog or a cat?

Keith shared this concept at Man School on Wednesday.  I have personalized it.  My Dad is about to have open-heart surgery to replace his aortic valve in three weeks.  Needless to say, he’s scared.  But he has a strong faith and we have a personal blog where I share with him some reassuring thoughts going into this…

Cosby (1/2 cocker, 1/2 poodle – my wife’s dog) and Bo (100% Black Lab – my dog) are good dogs.  Really good dogs.  Tucker is a great cat.  Amazing really.  He sleeps on top of the garage door at times and night before last, I went to close the door and didn’t realize he was up there.  He rode to door all the way down and tried to jump back onto Shannon’s car just as it was closing.  I was too late to stop the door and it squished him at the top, tripped and reopened.  I thought he was going to be cut in half!  He was very shaken and it scared me to death.  He seemed to bounce back OK but I was worried about him all day yesterday.  I came home from Carver to discover he was quite fine and, in fact, had captured, killed a squirrel (not an easy thing to do) and he left 1/2 of the kill at the back door.  Needless to say, he’s fine!

I digress – can you tell that Tucker is my #1 pet?

So the question for you (and me) is “are you a dog or a cat”?  What does that mean?

When I chase Cosby or try to scare him, he will run to Shannon and sidle up next to her.  When he senses fear, he goes to his master.  Bo’s the same way.  If there is a danger, Bo will come to my side.  He knows he is going into battle and odds are, he’ll probably go in first.  But his very first instinct is to protect his master and to come alongside me.  Beside me, he knows we’re in this together and his comfort is next to me.  Bo is very much a “master first” creature.  Bo knows if he’s going to go into a battle, he wants to be at my side and preferably, he wants to follow my lead.

Tucker…is another story.  Tucker’s first instinct when faced with danger is to get on his own feet and get on the move.  If he is free to move, he knows he has the skills and the chance to get to a place where he can survive on his own.  He very much is a “me first” creature.

If I am holding Tucker and we come around the corner and a strange, big dog approaches us, what’s he going to do?  He’s getting out of there and if I try to hold onto him, he’s going to climb me like a tree and remove some of my flesh doing anything he can in his power to get away from me so he can try to survive on his own.

So which one are you?  Are you going to fight this on your own, claw, scratch, fight and run to try to survive on your own power — or — are you a dog, knowing there is danger ahead, sensing fear and willing to submit and come alongside your Master to trust Him to lead you into this battle?

You’re a dog.  A good dog and I am confident that you are right where you need to be, right next to your Master, under his feet.

3 thoughts on “are you a dog or a cat?

  1. A central piece of my testimony is the fact that I have a mechanical aortic valve. When I’m still, I can hear it clicking. It’s a comfort to me, but I have to be still to hear it and not let my surroundings drown it out. Much like His voice.

    I pray your Dad’s surgery goes well, and that he has a speedy recovery.

  2. “Taking captive every thought…” (2Cor 10:5) What a battle!
    Come and stand beside the Master. The loyal dog who goes to stand by his master is an illustration. So how do we do that? We spend time with the Master so we know who to stand by. Too many men we meet aren’t sure who really is the Master. “Aren’t there many ways to God?”

    “Who is like unto Thee, O LORD among the gods? Who is like Thee, Glorious in holiness, fearful in praises, doing wonders; who is like unto Thee?” (Ex 15)

    How do we spend time with the Master? Turn to the Word. We listen to what He has to say. We don’t just read parts of a book called the “Bible.” We read it aloud with our mouths so that our spirits speak to our ears for our souls to hear and say, “Bless the LORD and all that is within me bless His holy Name!” We sing the songs in Psalms: “The Law of the LORD is perfect, converting the soul. The testimony of the LORD is sure making wise the simple.” (Ps 19)

    We spend time with brothers who are crowding around the Master to soak up His Presence. His name is Jesus. His name is “God Is Salvation.” He wins the battle.

Leave a Reply

