ManSchool week one – notes

We had 43 men at ManSchool on Wednesday.  About 10 other men signed up but were unable to join us.  So this is 50+ men and we are very excited about what God is going to do.

We covered the first chapter.  It’s an easy read and covers a lot of what we went through last fall.  Next week, we go into chapter 2.  The first chapter was easy but chapter 2 is work.  It is deep.  If you just blow through this chapter, you’ll have a hard time getting what John is trying to convey and the message is rich.  So take your time, underline, highlight, write in the margins…dig deep and see if God will speak to your heart through this chapter.

I read this quote when we started and it sums up chapter 1…

“As believers, we say we understand that there is a great battle between the kingdoms – the kingdom of God and the kingdom of Satan.  Be we actually live as if we were civilians and believe the battle to be an unthreatening distance away.  And so we have made our mission about the quality of our lives and the controlling of external factors.  We have made our lives about being on a vacation cruise liner, rather than about realizing we are on a battleship heading toward a great message.”  From It’s Your Call by Gary Barkalow

Here are the slides from chapter 1.  I love all you guys…

Waking the Dead 1

4 thoughts on “ManSchool week one – notes

  1. Thanks for posting the notes. While my travel schedule keeps me from being with you physically, the time spent reading and reflecting on the notes keeps me in the battle. I appreciate your willingness to “dredge” along with us!

  2. Hey, I want to thank you for continuing to include me in your emails. I really enjoy reading the slides even though I cannot participate on Wednesday mornings right now.

    Good stuff!

    Ed

    Edward L. Curran, MD
    West Georgia Eye Care Center – http://www.wgecc.com
    The Region’s Multispecialty Eye Care Provider
    (706) 323-3491 ext 7644

    “Commitment to Excellence, Spirit of Service”

  3. Richard, after reading chapter 2 I have an idea for a video clip to show this Wednesday. I don’t have your e-mail address, so will you send me an e-mail and I will explain the clip and ispiration that way. Thanks! Jeremy Bond

Leave a Reply

