Fear 50 feet up in the air. Spiritual warfare…

We will be covering pages 127-153 in the book, Walking with God. It deals with spiritual warfare and how it shows up in our lives.

We all deal with this. We all face it. However many of us miss it. We just think life stinks and we move on. We face continual doubts – “Do I really have what it takes to do this job?” and old fears show up constantly “what if my wife really doesn’t love me?”. That is warfare.

The week before we left for JH Ranch, it “dawned” on me that I really didn’t want to go. It would have been so much easier to punt and stay home. Warfare.

About 4 days into the trip, Lucy hit the wall. Fear. She had a very difficult challenge to get over on a high wire 50 feet up in the air. I was up there too. She froze. Panic set in. Tears cascaded down. She locked up. Condemnation jumped all over her – the other girls weren’t having a problem with these challenges. It was rough. We got through the challenge and climbed down the nets and the warfare was thick. I was slammed. Worn out. Exhausted. She was still crying. She hurt her back and immediately I started hearing, “That’s it, the week is toast. She’ll lock up now and won’t do anything else. Whitewater rafting is tomorrow, I bet she won’t even want to go.” As we limped back to the cabins, it was all I could do to not jump all over her in anger. I knew she was hurting physically and emotionally and a raised voice from Dad at that precise moment would have been a disaster. In fact, at a week where a Dad is trying to pour a ton of love and memories and a vision of the future into his precious daughter, incredible damage could have happened. I could have given into the warfare and turn it on her and said something harsh and THAT would have been her memory of the entire week. I’m telling you, the warfare was tangible. I could feel it, almost smell it. It lasted for an hour or so and as I prayed it began to lift. Lucy bounced back and 90 minutes later, I saw her walking across the campus laughing with her new friends. Praise the Lord!

Warfare is real. The demons don’t let up just because we are tired and need a break. No, that is when they ramp it up when we are most vulnerable. Think about it…what zebra does the lion go after? The weak one. The beaten down one. The most vulnerable one.

That’s our topic on Wednesday at 6:30am.

On the movie/dinner on the 24th, I now have about 25 men signed up. Thanks! Keep those reservations coming and go out there and LiveUP!

One thought on “Fear 50 feet up in the air. Spiritual warfare…

  1. Thank you Jesus… Richard I wish so much that I had your courage about 20 years ago… I still am dealing with some condemnation about certain actions when my daughter went through about the same kind of challenge while in JROTC. The ruff gruff 1SG, not the loving Father spoke on that day… wish I could replay. One of the reasons I take every opportunity I can to speak truth, love and the power of our Lord Jesus into young people. Trust in HIM, Always! Armor Up!

Leave a Reply

