How much do you love your boots? Generosity.

Here are the slides from last week’s talk on generosity from McManus’ book UPrising…  uprising 10 generosity

I have to tell you, this study has been so good that we will do this again in the future.  There is so much rich material and we feel like we only scratched the surface.

2013-12-08_17-37-41_43

The goal of this entire process is a movement towards wholeness.  Wholeness comes out of a spirit of gratitude which we’ve touched on in previous posts but as we move towards wholeness,  what is unleashed is generosity.  Many of us are in captivity and for a lot of us, that captivity comes out of a spirit of greed.  To be truly free, truly alive, we’re going to have to deal with this issue of greed.

Gordon Gekko in the movie Wall Street famously said, “Greed, for lack of a better word, is good.”  No, it isn’t.  Greed consumes.  Greed tells us we aren’t content.  Greed tells us others have it better than we do.  Greed will leave you bitter and the more you take, the more you consume, the more the monster is fed.  And by the way, you don’t own your things, they own you.  The more you possess, the more they possess you.

But we are on a quest for nobility and wholeness and the end game is that we’d learn to be generous people, to become instruments of good and that God would unleash such generosity in us that the world will never be the same again.

I can write pages and pages on this lesson on generosity but I am going to instead give you the bottom line…

Are you willing to give up your boots?

What do I mean?  McManus, at the end of this talk, challenges his people to do three things…

1)  Give 10% of their income to Mosaic Church – 10% isn’t the goal, its our starting point of giving

2)  Contribute to a humanitarian project – contribute your money and your time – go to Africa, India, Columbia, etc.

3)  Give your shoes away and go home barefooted

What?  He called his members up front, if so moved, to walk up and turn in their shoes that would then be given to ministries supplying shoes to the homeless.  And…they did.  All of them.  The entire church came forward and took off their shoes and hit the streets of LA barefooted.  It was amazing to see.

As I was watching this at home, I showed it to Shannon and her jaw dropped.  I said, “What about you, could you do that at CCC?  Could you give up your shoes?”  And she said, “No, I’m not sure I could do that.  What about you?  What if you had to give up your boots?”

Whoa.  My boots?  Not my boots.  I love my boots.  I only have one pair and I wear them all the time.  I really don’t want to give up my boots, they’re mine and they fit me.  I’ve broken them in.  They’re mine.

And there it is.  God so loved the world that He gave up His only Son as a sacrifice.  And I am not willing to give up my boots.

What about you?  Are you willing to give your “boots” on the alter?  What is it that God is calling you to do?  What ministry?  What mission trip?  How much giving – the question isn’t “how much money do you make” but rather, “how much are you giving away?”

Go back and read the first few chapters of David Platt’s book Radical if you want to understand this concept further.  Members of his church sold their homes near the Country Club to move to the inner city.  Members gave up their medical practices to go into full-time mission work.  They gave up their boots.

What about you?  Are you willing to give up your boots?  Are you willing to embrace radical generosity right now?

LiveUP!   LiveFree

2 thoughts on “How much do you love your boots? Generosity.

Leave a Reply

