coming events, manschool, carver and retreat…

For those of you that participated in the fall ManSchool studying UPrising, we will resume next Wednesday morning the 15th at 6am in the Milgen Room.  Any man, even if you haven’t been coming, is welcome.  One week might give you something you really need to hear.  We will meet for two weeks, break for one and start our Spring ManSchool on February 5th.  Topic is still being formulated.

“I went to ManSchool once, I didn’t get anything out of it.”

We get out of life what we put into it.  We get out of our faith what we invest in it.  One week doesn’t qualify as much of an investment.

“I can’t get up that early in the morning.”

I used to say the same thing and yet, I’d never tried it.  Come on.  We’ll get up early to hunt or fish.  We’ll get up early to travel to a SEC football game.  We’ll get up early for an important business meeting in Atlanta.  Again, you will get out of your faith what you put into it.  Given what God did for us, I’m willing to at least suck it up and commit to ManSchool.

“My work might take me out of town and you know, I work really hard.”

Your work or your faith?  Lay them side by side and ask yourself where you are placing your priorities.  If you travel, you can still come to ManSchool.  Come on the weeks you are in town.  If you miss a week it is OK.  Come back the next week.  Stay committed to your small group of men.  For me, my small group is crucial for continuity, stability and accountability.

“I’ll come but I’m not staying for a small group.”

That’s your choice but the small group is where the power is.  Remarkable – I mean truly remarkable – breakthroughs have happened and are happening around ManSchool in these small groups.  If you don’t stay and invest in a small group, you will miss the power of what is happening.

“My wife needs me to take the kids to school.”

If your wife works, that may be the case and we totally understand.  But ask yourself, ask her – could we do one day a week where I am in a community of faith of men fighting to LiveUP, fighting to become the men God intends for us to be?  I’m betting your wife would LOVE for you to be at ManSchool.

I know, I know.  I get all of these.  Some of them are totally valid and we absolutely support you in the role you are playing but more many of us, these are frankly, just excuses.  Something great designed just for men, run by men is happening in our midst.  It’s yours for the taking.  If you invest in your faith, if you invest in this community of men, you will reap a rich return.  Junk in, junk out.  Hard work in, rich results will follow.

Carver Banquet is now tentatively set for Saturday March 1st.  That’s very soon and we need to get cracking.  We need team leaders – someone to quarterback the set up, the clean up, the greeters, the servers and the food.  I need a man to step UP and be willing to quarterback the entire event – that man is in charge of the team leaders and each team leader is responsible for his task and we help him build his team.  But one man has to be the “go to” man.  This event won’t just “happen”.  We do it.  It’s on us and it is totally amazing to see it happen and is richly rewarding to be a part of.  Don’t miss this.  Step UP into leadership.  Get out of your comfort zone.  Lead.

Men’s Retreat – is tentatively set for Friday May 2nd – Sunday May 4th.  That may change but right now, that looks like the date.  We’ll have much more coming on this too but we’d love to have a big group of men willing to invest a weekend in their faith.  You won’t be disappointed.  Oh and if your immediate thought is, “I can’t do that, I’m coaching little league” – that’s OK.  You can come on Friday, come back to town on Saturday for the game and rejoin the group.  We want you there.

That’s all for now.  Please comment below on your availability to serve at the Carver banquet, the area you are interested in and if you want to lead a team, let me know that too.

Thanks, we’re going to have a great 2014.  I’m thrilled with our church theme for 2014 of Abound.  It fits perfectly with LiveUP.

One thought on “coming events, manschool, carver and retreat…

Leave a Reply

