W@H – the new name (2) – an assignment for you…

Next week is our last week of the Spring ManSchool.  We’ll take 4-5 weeks off and then start back with a Summer ManSchool Lite so that we can keep the continuity of gathering our Tribe together until we come back next Fall to finish Wild at Heart, tackle warfare, adventure and Eve.

This week, we wrapped up Craig’s powerful talk about our new name, the name God has for us.  Next week, I will share with you how I heard my name and what it has meant to me as a man.  I hope others of you will have a similar story to share.

Between now and next week, I want to ask you to commit to getting alone with God, clearing the decks and inviting God to speak to you.  Forget what your Dad said about you, your brother, your Mom, your coach, teacher or boss.  No, instead, clear the decks and invite your Creator to speak into your heart what He has to say about you.

Think back to that incredible scene from Les Mis where Jean Valjean encounters the Bishop.  Listen below to Craig’s prayer…

Let’s get quiet.  What does this clip stir?  What’s God saying right now?

Could it be true?  Really true that you’ve ransomed me, paid the full price, done everything…

So that, I can leave the wound, the vows, the messages and the scripts given to me and I can now be a new man.  Have my identity restored, my masculinity restored and reach a turning point in my relationship with you?

Could it be true that I can regain everything?

All that has been lost, stolen, given away?

The answer is yes.  It’s true. 

When you hear that from God himself, it’s a whole new ball game.

God, speak to me.  How do you see me?  Speak deep. 

Speak profound, true words of a Father to a son.

Clear the decks.  Speak something powerful, more powerful than I’ve ever heard.

Ask God.  There’s a remarkable turning point in your life when you hear from God who He says you are.  Take back your true identity.

This may not be a “one and done” thing.  You may need many “deck clearing” times in order to truly connect to the Father and let him speak.  Mine was in a prayer session at a Ransomed Heart boot camp.  The room was dimly lit, hundreds of men were deep in prayer and Craig or John one was calmly praying like above just inviting Jesus in, asking Him to speak and I just started writing…furiously.  As the words came – not words I orchestrated – just clear words flowing through my soul to my hand almost as if I had no control over the hand.  The words just came and God spoke.    And I heard my name.

You may hear him by your favorite stream or on a hillside overlooking the River.  You may hear watching the sun set night after night.  Calm, still, quiet asking the Father “Lord speak.  What do you say about me”.  There is no telling where you may hear God or what it is He has to share.  But you probably will never know, unless you ask.

Men, do this.  Take the time this week and do it.  I pray the Lord comes and speaks.  If you don’t hear Him, don’t be distressed.  There is nothing wrong with you, its just not time.  Keep asking, keep after it, keep seeking Him.  I am confident if you do, you’ll know.

Leave a Reply

