Craig McConnell talk

We just had our last session of the summer.  Attached is a link to the Ransomed Heart website and the “Men at the Outpost” series.  These are free and there is a ton of great material for you to invest in as a part of your movement towards God.  The link goes right to John’s talk with Craig about Craig’s battle with leukemia and how God showed up during the battle.  Fast forward to about 10 minutes in to where Craig starts talking.

http://www.ransomedheart.com/rhtv/triumphing-circumstances-change-042115

summary thoughts…

  1. We are in a love story set in a world at war.
  2. God is good.  He is.  He strides into the battlefield of suffering to show His goodness.
  3. Our enemy doesn’t relent.  He doesn’t give you a break.  When you are beaten down and the attack is relentless, he won’t back off.
  4. The enemy knows your vulnerabilities and weak spots and comes right at those weakest points.
  5. But in the midst of Craig’s worst moments, God would come and everything would fade “I’m safe in the hands and care of the Mighty One”.
  6. The primary value and component of the Kingdom is love.
  7. At the peak of the battle when Craig was just about give up, God came and asked him to battle/pray for others.  What an amazing example of Excurvatus Ex Se!
  8. While seeming cruel at first, Craig says that is the moment when he felt closest to and the most like, God.
  9. There is no exemption from love.  Communion with God is seen in loving others.  The deepest reality is to love.
  10. Look for God in the little things – not the triumphant miraculous cure but rather in the little things.  He’s there.  He’s working.
  11. There is a cost to this life.  If you haven’t known hardship and doubt, you will.
  12. Suffering/affliction changes people for the good or for the bad.
  13. Craig got to that moment many times of despair, hopelessness and just giving up and while it is so tempting because those things seem to offer relief but deep inside some part of him said, NO.  I will not give in to that.”
  14. If you have disappointment, chronic disappointment in one area of your life – you know that the marriage simply will never “be good” or that everything else is good but you just have this chronic disappointment, failure and shame with your finances – a ha! that’s the battlefield.  The enemy is there wanting to instill in your heart this resentment towards God.  He resents God.  He hates God and he is trying to steer you to that same place to take on his posture towards God.
  15. But the evidence is extraordinarily clear that God uses our afflictions to shape us.
One thought on “Craig McConnell talk

  1. So is it really worthwhile getting up early in the morning for Manschool? Does it really matter? Won’t I get more out of another hour of sleep? For those of you who might be thinking that, let me tell you my story. Last week we heard from Craig McConnell, a leukemia patient, talk about his experience in the hospital and God telling him that regardless of his circumstances, he want him to pray for others and not worry so much his own condition. So here’s where my story starts. I too, am a leukemmia patient and was scheduled for some out-patient surgery this past Friday. Mind you, this was the first surgery I have ever had, so I was just a little anxious. But I heard God speak to me through Craig’s experience. He was saying “I want you to pray for others, I’ve got you!” I kept hearing it over and over again all the way to Friday. So Friday morning came early. They always want you there at O-dark-thrity! We arrived about 5:15 AM and proceded to the surgery waiting room. We hadn’t been there more than a few minutes and they called me back. They gave me the gown that Craig affectionately referred to as a “bib” and hooked me up to the heart monitor. I had a low blood pressure and I laughed a bit with the nurse and told her I was supposed to worry about the other patients – God had me! While I laid there, I could hear the conversations with the other patients, understood what they were there for and knew how to pray for them. I laid there for over an hour without anyone interrupting me for IVs, or questions confirming why I was there, and continued to pray for others. I think that was a God-thing! Finally the Doctor came in and was amazed that no one had done anything to get me ready for surgery and proceded to get the ball rolling. Everything was happening at breakneck speed. Well, I obviously came through the surgery fine – after all, God had me! I couldn’t decide if I should share my experience or not but I thought if it helps just one other man to start coming to Manschool to see what God wants to say to him, it’s worth it. I believe God speaks to us in many ways and many times through others. I certainly heard God speak to me through Craig’s experience. So I want to encourage you if you’re not coming to Manschool because you’re not sure what difference it might make, to show up and see what God has to say to you. You never know when God is going to speak to you, you just need to keep listening and show up! See you in the Fall!

Leave a Reply

