“Go”

tying into the “What are you waiting for” … a short, few words on …

Am I willing to “GO”?

Abram was commanded to go – Genesis 12:1 – “The Lord said to Abram: Go out from your lands, your relatives, and your father’s house to the land that I will show you.  I will make you a great nation, I will bless you, I will make your name great, and you will be a blessing.  I will bless those who bless you, I will curse those who treat you with contempt, and all the peoples on earth will be blessed through you.”

Moses was commanded to go – Exodus 3 – “I have observed the misery of My people in Egypt, and have heard them crying out because of their oppressors, and I know about their sufferings.  I have come down to rescue them from the power of the Egyptians and to bring them from that land to a good and spacious land, a land flowing with milk and honey … The Israelites’ cry for help has come to Me, and I have also seen the way the Egyptians are oppressing them. Therefore, go.  I am sending you to Pharaoh so that you may lead My people, the Israelites out of Egypt.”

So you see, God calls men UP to extraordinary challenges for His purposes.  These are two huge examples that involved men moving nations.  Enormous.  Unthinkable.  So many excuses as to the “no-way I can do that”.  And yet, God said, “Go”.

We are commanded to go.  Jesus said in Mark 10 to the rich young ruler, “Go, sell everything you have and give to the poor, and you will have treasure in heaven.  Then come, follow me.”

We’re being called to “Go”.  It is radical.  It means the old life goes.  It means we step forward blindly trusting the Father.  It means our comfort-zone Christianity must go.  Much of what we we’re going to discuss this semester will be challenging and uncomfortable but we believe there is great freedom on the other side.

We’re going to offer you the material and serve up the invitation for you to shed the old ways, shed the old life and wake up to living your life beyond self.  Excurvatus Ex Se – a life lived outward.

Time is flying by.  Another decade will pass before you know it.  Are you going to settle for that nice, safe, domesticated Christianity?  Or are you going to choose the radical?  The untamed, unapologetic, “I will go wherever Jesus sends me” kind of faith.

We have a choice to make.  What are you waiting for?

Leave a Reply

