What does God have to say about you?

lab

Jesus comes at times and surfaces things and says, “I want to deal with that”.  He does so because He has a mission.  He seeks to liberate that which we’ve buried in our shame, guilt, fear and woundedness.

Craig was sitting overlooking the beach having his quiet time and a young lab pup runs up to him.  Excited and eager … “hey you wanna go play?  You wanna chase me?  I’ll chase you!  Come on, let’s play”.  Craig shoed the dog away so he could go back to the Lord.  A little while later, he sees the lab down on the water’s edge chasing birds, running, playing … just being a lab.  The lab shows up at the beach and he just wants to be all that God made him to be.  Living.  Free.  No boundaries.  He can’t read the signs that say “no dogs on the beach”.  He has no restraints.  He’s being exactly who God wants him to be.  And after shoeing him away, he found himself saying “I want to be a lab”.  Don’t we all?

There are a lot of signs around us asking “Who are you?” or telling us  “You can’t be that”.  The wounds I’ve suffered, the messages they bring and the vows I make are the signs in our life – the signs that say “You can’t be all that…”

The vows sort of become a script for my life, my identity.  “I’m a seagull”.  I became that.  I had nothing to offer, nothing to say, only taking up space.  The wounds took deep root.  Shame and contempt.  “I’ll never be a man that makes a difference or says anything that changes or encourages anyone”.  Whoa.

Think about this.  Craig spent 40 years of his life struggling with the notion that he had nothing to offer, nothing to say.  He felt he’d never make a difference or could say anything that would encourage anyone.  Wow.  That’s a powerful condemnation over his life.  He was listening to the wrong voice.  Once he went to the Father and truly opened up his heart to what the God of the universe had to say about him, his story changed.  His identity changed.  He was no longer the seagull.  And just look at the next 30 years of his life.  Look at the impact he had.  Look at the thousands of lives he changed and the tens of thousands of men he “fathered” in his ministry. 

What’s your script?  Oh, you’ve been told who you are and what you can and cannot be.  That much is clear.  What most of us don’t know is what God thinks of us… 

Ephesians 1 – He had me individually in mind before the foundation of the earth with plans to adopt me and celebrate by lavish gift giving.  Uniquely crafted and created.

Psalm 139 – knitted together, fearfully and wonderfully made.  He had something in mind when He created me.  It is much like a coach or a CEO pulling you aside after tons of hard work, pushing yourself, not sure anyone is noticing and he says “I see what you’re doing and I just want you to know I have big plans for you”.  Imagine that.  Imagine what that would stir in your soul.  Now imagine the 1000x impact of God saying that you!

Revelation 2:17 – for those who overcome, I will give him a white stone with a new name written on it known only to the one who receives it and to God.  A descriptive name of who He intended me to be.  We have that!  All of us.  A True name.  A unique name.  A God name.

Chesterton – “All of us suffer from the same dilemma, we’ve forgotten who we are.”

Have you forgotten who you are?  What seems quite easy to remember and what seems to govern our lives is what others think we are.  We know what our brother said about us and to us.  We know the words Mom spoke over us or Dad labeled us with.  We can recite them from memory.  We can even remember where/when it happened.  And yet, most of us have forgotten who God called us to be.

Spurgeon – “I will never have it that God created any man, especially any Christian man, to be a blank nothing.  He made you for an end.  Find out what that end is.  Find your niche and fill it.  Do something in this great battle for God and for truth.”

God gives us hints of this throughout our Christian life.  Wouldn’t you like to know?  Once you know all of this is true and once all this becomes real that you are a son, adopted and loved, once that captures you…wow.

Gladiator – God created him to be a leader and a general.  Did Maximus forget who he was?  It is a picture of all the residents of Heaven peering in over the castle wall watching us battle and fight – the whole host of Heaven cheering for us, “LIVE, LIVE, LIVE!”

Do you want to know who you are?  Ask God.  Take all you read about who God says you are, pound on the door and all out “LORD, imbed this in me, in my being.  Remove everything contra and counter that shouts down truth”.  If you really heard what God has to say about you and your life, you’d be embarrassed to share it or you’d think you were making it up because what God dreams about you is far greater than you could imagine.  It’s the thing you most want to be but can’t imagine being.

If God was to say to you, “I want you to be ___________”

Would you believe it?  Would you jump into it?

One thought on “What does God have to say about you?

  1. God bless the mighty men of man school. What an awesome 2 years.

    My prayer as I move to NC is that I will be planted amongst similar men and within a similar Church.

    I will bloom where planted, in Jesus name.

    Please pray for me as I will continue to pray for all.

    Ephesians 2:8-9
    Ephesians 2:10

Leave a Reply

