Read Psalm 32:1-5

Read Psalm 32:1-5.  This is the path of man in our brokenness.  Follow it.  Follow the progression of steps.  Follow the path to wholeness…

  1. How happy is the man whose sin is forgiven.  How happy is the man who no longer hides and lies — “in whose spirit there is no deceit”.  This is God’s design.  It is what He had with Adam briefly and it is what Jesus came to reclaim.
  2. But, because of our brokenness … we hide.  We pose.  We take the reins and try to do life on our own apart from God.  In our hiding and posing, we are living a lie.  32:3 “When I kept silent (hide), my bones became brittle from my groaning all day long.  For day and night, Your hand was heavy on me; my strength was drained…”  Oh we can run but we cannot hide.  We can push God away.  We can live life solo – a man doing life all by himself, not letting anyone in, always putting up a false front, posing as having it all figured out but in so doing, we are wasting away, crumbling under our mask of “I’ve got it all figured out”.
  3. And then, hopefully, we turn“Then, I acknowledged my sin to You and did not hide…”  Once broken, we own it.  We don’t, after all, have it all figured out.  We are lost in our posing and hiding.  We cannot do life alone.  We are indeed quite broken, quite humble and desperate in our need for Grace.  And we confess.
  4. Once we confess, comes the restoration“and You took away the guilt of my sin”.  Freedom.  Restored.  Forgiven.  No more shame.  Transparent in my brokenness, I give it over to God and admit I am a mess.  In so doing, He restores.  He restores!  The guilt is gone and the trump-card the enemy had over me is gone!
Leave a Reply

