From My Utmost for His Highest by Oswald Chambers   (my paraphrase)

“You are slaves to the one whom you obey.”  Romans 6:16

The first thing to do in examining the power that dominates me is to take hold of the very unwelcome fact that I am responsible for letting it dominate me.

If I am a slave to myself, I am to blame because at some point, long ago, I freely gave into self.  I opened the door.

If I find myself today a slave to lust or sexual temptation, I must readily admit that this burning lust was first stoked by the gas I poured on the fire.  I dabbled in it.  I pushed the line.  I focused too much on it.

“What I feed grows, what I starve dies”.

Likewise, if I obey God, I do so because I have yielded myself to Him.  To obey Him means my self has to die, my self has no vote, my self has no voice.

If you give into, or yield to, your selfish desires and live your life out of that desire, you will find it is the most enchaining tyranny on earth.  It will consume you and all those around you.

There is no power on this earth to break the bondage formed by yielding.  Yield for one second to anything in the nature of lust (lust being that – “I must have it at once” – it can be lust for another woman, lust for sex itself, lust for power, money, approval, acceptance, etc). –  yield once and even though you may hate yourself for having done so, you’re now a slave to it.

Open the door and let that thing in your life and … it is in.   You can’t undo it.  I open the door a free man and close it a prisoner.

Release from this prison comes only through Redemption.

I must yield in utter humiliation (I must be humbled) to the only One who can break the dominating power.  “He sent me … to proclaim freedom for the prisoners”.

You will find this out in the most ridiculously small ways – “Oh, I can give this habit up when I like”.  You cannot.  You will find that this “habit” absolutely dominates you because you gave into it.  You yielded to it.  You opened the door.  It’s easy to sing, “Break every chain” and at the same time living a life of obvious slavery to yourself.

Yielding to Jesus will break every form of slavery in any human life.  He is the only way.

Will you surrender to Him?

Leave a Reply

